We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

A considerable percentage of citizens often have the mindset of limiting healthcare and financial supports to only a closed community. However, I personally think that the lives of those beyond national borders should also be handled with absolute respect and faithfulness.

To an extent, it is acceptable that the government should provide an adequate source of medical and financial protection to their fellow citizens. Such a naturally resourceful country would be able to benefit a lot more in terms of local industries and national economy if the budget is allocated directly for repairing persisting domestic problems, like violence and homelessness. In other words, without having to invest much of the national financial resources to less-developed countries, the economic growth would double and the construction of infrastructures would be more efficiently paced. Moreover, due to the fact that domestic problems are conveniently placed on our doorstep, keeping things under control becomes much more manageable, and supporting the local misfortuned could be done in a variety of ways. With all the reasons mentioned above, it is understandable why people seem to prioritize domestic supports.

However, it would be an insult to equality if the less-fortuned living across borders are not treated the same way. One of the reasons why developed countries should pay more attention to those inhabiting poorly-developed areas is that the problems in those areas are significantly alarming, yet really simple technology would have easily resolved them. For instance, African countries have been facing the toughest of diseases, which took the lives of millions. However, it is surprising that modern-day antibiotics are more than enough to drastically bring that number down. In addition, due to the fact that we are all human beings, we take pride in our culture and obligation to treat everyone equally and adequately. Simply speaking, we are responsible for creating a large community of different nationalities, beliefs, and ethics, instead of a passive and closed community. Without each other’s help, we cannot improve technology, and disregard global conflicts.

In conclusion, while it is visually evident that the current world’s situation is preventing us from supporting everyone equally, it is crucial to know that we can never let geographical and national borders be an excuse for leaving behind people that are in need.