Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters.

Do you agree or disagree ?

Destruction of properties is the way of natural disaster, and it usually leaves poor countries with huge damages when it happens. Solving such emergency issues could be easier if wealthy nations assist with humanitarian aides. But I think it is unjustified to impose this on rich countries.

From destruction of buildings to spreading of diseases, destitute nations can be seriously devastated by natural hazards. Children may be out of school and vulnerable aged people may fall ill and probably die. Perhaps these likely catastrophes are the justification of the necessary support of financially-buoyant countries to underprivileged ones. Who would watch fellow humans die when he/she has relief resources in abundance that could be donated that would save many lives, both young and old ?

However, it is not uncommon for the government of poor nations to be closely involved in dishonesty and unaccountability, and this usually frustrates good humanitarian efforts of rich nations. The donated resources may be squandered so much that infants and old ones, who most need them, would hardly benefit. If this were not true, the National Foreign Aide Management of Nigeria would not be on judicial trial for a 40-billion-Naira fraud. So because of that, it is difficult to not disagree with the given statement.

As well as corruption, over-dependence on affluent naions is another reason why I disagree with the view. Many poor countries often seem to be reluctant in playing their part in combatting natural disaster. If, for example, they conserve forests, the lands could be saved from possible flood and erosion, which may assist in protecting agricultural products. With humanitarian reliefs of wealthy countries usually comes over-reliance on them to solve almost every problem.

Despite the envisaged justifications, I still strongly believe that wealthy countries should leave poor ones to their fate during natural disaster.