Weddings are more expensive in many countries comparison present and past What is the reason behind this Is this a positive or a negative development

Weddings and ceremonies have been a status symbol for society since decades. Nowadays, these functions are becoming much more expensive in some countries than they are in past. this essay intends to discuss what are the reasons behind expensive weddings, and whether this is a positive development or not.

On the one hand, weddings are more expensive because people are more rich than they are in past. At present, majority of wealth is concentrated in a small number of hands; hence, they spend a lot of money on weddings and other ceremonies. This is because, weddings are regarded as a status of wealth and prosperity in many countries. To keep their social status high, people spend their money on these functions. Besides this, media also plays a crucial role in making weddings expensive. Media publicise video clips and pictures of weddings of famous personalities. When people see these clips, they also set their marriage goals such as Pre wedding shoot, reception party and so on. Due to the addition of these ceremonies, weddings became more costlier.

On the other hand, these types of weddings are detrimental for society and public. Under the pressure of society, people take loan for spending money on the wedding of their son or daughter. This is because, a person's standard of living is judged by the money spent on marriage. Expensive wedding is regarded as the prosperity of family. Therefore, people take debt for costly weddings. Take a survey report of taking debt for weddings in India as an example, which listed that the number of taking loans for marriage surged, from 20 % in 2010, to 70% in 2019.

In conclusion, the weddings are becoming costlier because people who are rich show off their wealth to society, and the second reason behind this is the influence of media.however, this is a negative development because people take loan debt just to show off their fake wealth in front of the society.