What are the pros and cons of children watching TV?

Nowadays, television is very popular all over the world. It is often argued whether it has negative or positive impact especially when it comes about children watching TV. However, there are both pros and cons of TV programs. In this essay, I will discuss some of the benefits and drawbacks of watching television for kids and provide my opinion at the end.

Let’s start by looking at the advantages. Firstly, television can be the additional resource of useful information about science, nature, history and human society due to a wide range of educational programs such as National Geographic and BBC. Secondly, watching foreign movies or cartoons without translation may help them to learn another language. For example, my younger cousin has improved his English language skills by watching TV series with original dubbing.

Turning to the other side of the argument, watching television may have a negative consequence for young people. One of the biggest disadvantages is that it often leads to the lack of physical activity among children. Since many TV shows are entertaining and addictive kids prefer wasting time in front of a screen to playing and walking outside. Consequently, spine issues as well as obesity can be caused by sedentary lifestyle in their future. Another major drawback is that spending time in front of TV-set can distract children from their studies. Endless TV shows take all their free time so the pay less attention to homework which may affect their success at school in a negative way.

In conclusion, television has both benefits and drawbacks for children. Although it can help youngsters to be more aware about world around them and be an extra tool for learning foreign language it may also lead to health issues and distract from essential parts of life such as studying. In my opinion, the advantages of television outweigh the disadvantages because I believe that children are able to choose proper content and use their time wisely.