When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Building isn't of any use if cannot be used for the purpose it was designed for. Scenic beauty of building is important to attract people but people will lose interest if they don't find any it useful from utility perspective. So usefulness is as important as the aesthetic beauty of the building.

To start with, a man without a purpose and building without being useful are directionless. If the building cannot met it's announced objectives then it will be of no use to people and howsoever beautiful its appearance or ambiance is building will ultimately lead to lose it's importance soon. If Indian restaurants, for instance, cannot provide Indian cuisine foods then people will never prefer to visit it howsoever beautiful it may be. Similarly, if a museum fails to explain the saga of famous things then it will be devastated soon because people will never visit them and ultimately with no earnings museums cannot survive longer. So in order to buildings to survive and earn effectively it should have relevant factors for which it was made else these will vanish soon.

Furthermore, to bring liveliness to these buildings appearance and attractiveness play a vital role. If building is not beautiful looking then people will not even consider to visit it once. For example, Taj Mahal in India is famous for it's scenic views where people wait till evening just to see the glimpse of the Taj in the moon light which gives them such a satisfaction. So to attract majority of the people building has to be good looking.

To recapitulate, utility and aesthetic appearance both are important for proper functioning of the building. If either of them is missing building will be considered incomplete and cannot perform the way it can perform. Aesthetic appearance is required to attract customers while utility is required so that people can make full use of for what is was made for.