When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, design of building plays a great role. Building isn't of any use if cannot be used for the purpose it is designed for. Scenic beauty of building is important to attract people but people will lose interest if they don't find it relevant from utility perspective. So usefulness is as important as the aesthetic beauty of the building.

To start with, a man without a purpose and building without being useful is directionless. If the building cannot met it's announced objectives then it will be of no use to people and howsoever beautiful its appearance or ambiance is building will ultimately lead to lose it's importance. If Indian restaurants, for instance, cannot provide Indian cuisine foods then people will never prefer to visit it, no matter how beautiful it is. Similarly, if a museum fails to explain the saga of famous things then it will be devastated soon because people will never visit them and ultimately with no earnings museums cannot survive longer. So in order to buildings to survive and earn effectively it should have relevant factors for which it was made else these will vanish soon. Architects plays a vital role in designing of building as they are expert of the domain and they align design according to usefulness.

Furthermore, to bring liveliness to these buildings appearance and attractiveness play a vital role. People nowadays, prefer to judge things/building by its look because it creates a long lasting image in the mind. If design of building is good then obviously recall value will be high. If building is not beautiful looking then people will not even consider to visit it once. For example, Taj Mahal in India is famous for it's scenic views where people wait till evening just to see the glimpse of the Taj in the moon light which gives them such a satisfaction. Just because of design Taj Mahal is among the seven wonders of the world. So to attract majority of the people building has to be designed in such a manner that it becomes worth visiting it.

To recapitulate, utility and aesthetic appearance both are important for proper functioning of the building. If either of them is missing building will be considered incomplete and cannot perform the way it can perform. Aesthetic appearance is required to attract customers while utility is required so that people can make full use of for what is was made for.