When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With rising housing demands and shrinking public spaces, its often argued that planning residential towns should consider the need for public parks and sporting centres, rather than opening commercial shopping centres to make extra bucks. I strongly agree with this view and the essay will further elaborate reasons for approval; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, as people continue to migrate towards big cities, the cities are witnessing continuous expansion and demand for the creation of new towns to spread the burden of ever-increasing population growth. Consequently, the mindless expansion has resulted in shrinking of public spaces and has choked the city. It, therefore, becomes important to include provision for open spaces while planning new townships to provide the breathing space to the city. Parks and sports centres provide commonplace for people to socialize and build stronger communities. They promote health and happiness as they offer space for recreational activities to both young and old.

Moreover, these places have gained more importance today as most of the youngsters prefer to play indoor, spending time on mobile and forgo the benefits of outdoor games. Having a park or sports centre in towns will attract youngsters towards sports and physical activities. In addition to this, these places provide a common ground to organize cultural and community events. In contrast to this, the recent culture of promoting shopping centres in towns have only fed to the monetary greed of planners. Although they provide convenience of shopping to locals and a place for indoor activities, these centres are mainly responsible for traffic jams and the disappearance of vast open spaces. Therefore, they should be developed outside the towns to separate commercial and residential spaces.

To conclude, shrinking open spaces demands a paradigm shift in town planning where more focus should be placed on public health and engagements, creating recreational spaces for people to rejuvenate.