While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

Employers use several criteria to assess candidates when they want to hire new employees. Some managers believe that relevant qualifications and experience is important whereas others give preference to character traits. This essay will discuss why I believe that new positions can’t be filled based on personal qualities.

Some employers might recruit a new employee based on his positive attitude and his ability to successfully communicate with others. This is because they believe people with such characteristics contribute significantly towards a company’s success. For example, our company’s most successful Sales Manager has an engineering degree. Hence, even though he was an engineer, he performed substantially in an office leasing company as a sales manager because he was able to convince clients and sell offices which in return generated revenue for the company.

Nonetheless, personality traits are important only in certain roles or positions. Professions such as medicine or education can not have recruits that do not have a relevant degree or experience. This means someone with charming personality but no training in dentistry can not extract a patient’s wisdom tooth. This is the reason why every country has their own governing body that keeps checking hospitals and their doctors to prevent people with fake medical degrees to conduct malpractice.

In conclusion, employers might pay attention to soft skills while recruiting employees. However, qualifications and experience can not be neglected in particular professions. Therefore, I believe it is important to hire someone who is qualified rather than hiring someone who might have good communication skills.