While some people think that art is an important subject for children to study, others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Art is a subject that has been taught at school for generations. Whilst, many people are for arts to be taught at schools, others are totally against this idea. In this essay, I will be discussing both views and give arguments for why I think artistic subjects are essential for children.

It is often thought that studying art at school is a waste of time and resources because it is believed that children will not gain many skills from these subjects that can be helpful to them in the future. Learning art is not going to prepare them for their professional life. Furthermore, even if they wanted to pursue an artistic carrier, they are going to face many difficulties because they are going to struggle to make a living as artists.

Nevertheless, teaching art to the younger generation will help in building their character and their communication skills. For example, art classes like dancing and theater encourage kids to work in groups and express themselves through their art and this will have an impact on their lives in the future and in becoming a functional individual in society. Therefore, I strongly believe that it is important to have creative and artistic subjects at school to ensure that we prepare children properly for the future.

In conclusion, although arts do not have a direct impact on children’s lives, I believe that they should still have art classes because of how much it affects their communication skills and build their characters.