Why go to university?

At one point or another in their high school lives, students are confronted with a big question: should they go to college or university? The general consensus is that the best way to get success in the future is earning a university degree, and I strongly agree with that viewpoint. This essay will look at a variety of reasons for attending universities.

First, a university is a place where students can acquire detailed knowledge of a wide variety of subjects. Higher education allows students to choose a major, and they will get to study all the subjects related to their majors in depth. This is one of the noticeable differences between studying at universities and high schools. The subjects or courses are taught by lecturers who are experts in fields. Plus, students will have chances to practice multiple times. For instance, those studying languages get to practice the languages with native teachers, those studying Biology or Chemical Engineering get to practice in the laboratory, etc.

Second, it is widely believed that holding a university degree is a stepping stone to a better career. These days, quite a lot of companies are looking for university graduates who are well qualified for a certain job with huge responsibilities and good pay. Moreover, to join professions such as doctor, teacher or lawyer, one must need a university degree. Thus, getting into universities is an inevitability. In addition to technical skills, university environment makes it easy for students to acquire practical skills which might come in handy in the real world.

In short, that students should or should not go to universities after finishing high schools is always a common topic to be discussed. I firmly believe that attending universities is the path to success later in the future.