Some people think that children’s free time must include educational activities otherwise they will waste their time. What is your opinion?

The way in which children spent their leisure time varies greatly. Some people believe that children should engage in educational activities, or else, it would be just a waste of time. From my standpoint, activities involving education are beneficial to children in some extent. This essay will discuss some benefits that children might get from that kind of activity.

To begin with, educational toys or game benefits children’s brain development. Indeed, certain types of play develop better skills. For instance, toy blocks can function as powerful learning tools which help children develop hand-eye coordination, a capacity for creative, divergent thinking and engineering skills. Because kids can put together blocks in various ways, divergent play may prepare them to think creatively and deal better with different problems. What’s more, kids with those skills tend to be inspired to follow careers in engineering, science or technology.

In addition, educational activities often involve parents’ participation, which is helpful in tightening the parent-child relationship. When children are at home, parents can get kids to discover something new as a fun time and involving education such as teaching them to play a musical instrument or simply helping them develop counting skills. Day by day, with all the time that parents and children spend together, their relationship is bound to be strengthen, which plays an important part in child development.

In short, educational activities contribute to child development, it is, therefore, parents’ responsibilities to encourage their children to take part in that kind of activity in their free time.