Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Whether death punishment is required or not in a civilized society is a difficult question to answer. In spite of abolishment of death penalty by most of the western countries, some countries including Saudi Arabia, Malaysia and Singapore still have capital punishment. Although, the countries having capital punishment show reduced crime rate, it does not imply that they do not have any crimes at all. In my opinion, Capital punishment is essential for major crimes like women and children sexual exploitation and drug trafficking.

Human rights advocates argue that a society does not have the rights to remove one’s life. Besides, there is always a possibility of convicting someone due to circumstantial evidence. Most civil societies prescribe to the notion that “We can allow the escape of 1000 criminals but should not allow the conviction of 1 innocent person “.

Hammurabi’s code of justice is popular since he ruled Egypt around 3000 years before. It advocates capital punishment for serious crimes. It should be noted that capital punishment is awarded for serious crimes like murder, violence against children and drug trafficking in some of the countries. However, it should be noted that a fair and honest legal system with impartial implementation of the rules of law is a necessity for the capital punishment system to work in a transparent manner.

In conclusion, in a world filled with increasing rates of crimes against children, women and other serious crimes, capital punishment may provide a noteworthy tool for counteracting the challenging crimes. In my opinion, Proper diligence should be followed ,while awarding the capital punishment to the criminals.