"Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up."

It is commonly believed that child care responsibilities are handled in a wonderful manner by women rather than men. Even though it was believed to be an ancient or outdated notion, it is quite prevalent in most parts of the male-dominated societies. In my opinion, the changing roles of women and men due to the demands of modern society must that both father and mother play an equal role in bringing up the children.

In ancient hunter-gatherer society of the human, women played a major role in child care responsibilities. This trend continued during the industrial era when women played the role of homemaker. However in modern society, due to the burgeoning cost of living and inflation, numerous women have to work full-time/part-time to fulfill the financial requirements of the family. In this scenario, it is imperative that men should play a larger role in handling household chores and child care responsibilities.

The household responsibilities are no longer tedious work, since the mechanization of the major household chores like washing, cooking and cleaning. The advancements in the infant medical field, children's nutrition and eradication of major diseases like smallpox and polio have made the child care responsibilities quite straightforward nowadays. Furthermore, newer trends like telecommuting and part-time work encourage men to be at home for a longer duration so that they can play an active role in child care responsibilities.

In conclusion, Fatherhood is equal to motherhood with regard to child care responsibilities. In my opinion, Father and Mother need to discuss with each other and decide on the individual tasks of the childcare responsibilities.