Write about the following topic:

“Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life?”

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Non-academic ventures such as outdoor sports, indoor games, painting, singing, dancing and acting have an essential role among school-going children regardless of their academic curriculum. As we know, all students are not good at studying, Instead, they have other hidden talents which can be exposed by asking them to participate in such programmes.

Encouraging school children to get involved in various exercises will aid them to improve on various factors such as confidence, personality development, stamina and cognitive functions. Moreover, there is no rule in this world that only graduates have a better life. It is highly exceptional because in recent times a boy named Nadasuram, won a million dollars by playing the piano blindfolded state. His autobiography is very clear that his parents have not sent him to school, despite of which, he started to learn piano at the age of four at a music academy.

Scholars should not just focus on books alone, rather they should be motivated to actively participate in various extra classroom activities as well. Because such engagements will not only encourage the students to find their strengths and weaknesses, instead it will help them identify their desired dreams. Students should be given examples of people who have not performed well in academics to understand that one can excel through other forms as well. For example, the legendary cricketer M S Dhoni was found spending time on the school ground rather than in the classroom and today he is one of the finest cricketers our nation has produced.

The involvement of pupils in school activities are very essential because it improves an individual in various streams. I strongly believe that non-scholastic activity will help the scholars bring out concealed abilities giving them hope to reach higher heights.