You should spend about 40 minutes on this

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Transportation network is vital for a nation for its economic growth. But, when it comes to spending on specific sector, railways or road, it become debatable. I believe both mode of transportation- railway and road- have its own importance, so spending on both sector must be chosen by governments according to their economic needs.

To embark on, for intercity transportation, railways plays more important role, as it is cost effective, safe and faster. For instance, transporter can send tons of materials such as coal, machineries etc. via train at reasonably low rate, and can reach destination at lesser time. Therefore, government should emphasis on intercity train transportation. Moreover, pollution caused by train is quite less, as most of the trains are running on electricity as compare to earlier days, when steam engines were used.

However, roads are most important for intra-city connectivity because all areas of city cannot be connected by rails. If road conditions are not well inside city or town, then day-to-day communication will be painful. Few may argue that road services create pollution and noise. But, this issue can be regulated with strict law enforcement by government. In fact, areas, which are at high altitude, can only be connected by roads due to geographical complication. To illustrate, Leh - a place in India situated at 16000 ft. from sea level - is only possible to communicate via road.

To sum up, as both mode of transportation - rail and road- are important for economic development, heads of the state must priority with equal weightage because both have their own advantages and needs.