You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

There have been several argument between whether or not individuals cannot contribute to a better environment, and only the governments and large companies can take charge of it. Personally, I do not agree with this statement and because of two reasons.

First, the governments and large companies pay more attention to their goals other than protecting the environment. I am not say that government and companies ignore the environment, however, they certainly have many bigger concerns to consider. The government have so many responsibilities, such as caring for the nation's economy, communicating with other neighor countries, and building and equipping the country. Large company may concern how to gain stable income, and to enlarge their popularity. Therefore, improving the environment will only be a little concerns in their many tasks.

On the other hand, I believe it is the citizens who would make a difference as individuals. This is best indicated through the speech and actions of Greta Thunberg, a 16 year-old environmental activist, which had called for immediate actions to protect the environment and drew the attention of many authorities and people over the world. From then she created the 'Greta effect", where people take actions such as planting, recycling and spreading the message to improve the environment. This occurence also made the nations and mass organisations starting to take actions into improving the environment.

In short, I think it is safe to say that individuals do have a big distribution to improving the environment, more than only the government and large companies.