Young people today learn more from the internet and television than they do from teachers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advancements in internet and other digital technologies influenced the young generation and nowadays for learning they rely more on digital technologies than traditional classrooms. Although internet is a vast source of information for students, in my opinion, it cannot outweigh the importance of classroom teaching.

Undoubtedly, the advancement of technology changed the educational systems and internet based teaching methods are introduced to the students from smaller classes. Internet has much more study materials than that are available from traditional classroom teaching, which the students can get access to at any time and from anywhere they want. For instance, e-learning sites, video tutorials, blogs and e-books are easily available from internet; many are free of cost and can be accessed from the privacy of a home. It is a fact that luxury of these internet options moves the students away from traditional class rooms.

However, there are some aspects which students or young generation learn only from traditional schools. Traditional class room teaching inculcates many human values to students such as discipline, value of helping and sharing, importance of team work and interpersonal skills which the virtual learning cannot offer. Classroom teachings give opportunities to discuss a topic among peers and clearing doubts with a teacher. Teachers provide feedback to students on their studies and for their overall development, which are not possible for the internet.

In conclusion, although internet and television are vast source of information for young generation, these cannot be a complete replacement to the traditional classroom teaching. Traditional classroom teaching plays an important role in personality development in youth. So educationists should take a balanced approach while implementing changes to education systems instead of allowing classroom teaching to give way to internet based learning.