In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today’s world demands both parents to work in order to support their families as it is difficult for many of them to satisfy their family needs. Some people have of the opinion that both parents working means children are not getting enough care. However, in my opinion, we cannot generalize that the children of all working parents do not get proper support from their parents.

Those who are against both parents working may be of the view that children are not happy because their parents work. This is true when both husband and wife work for long hours and they do not get time to spend with their children. The work pressure or long commute from workplace to home are some of the reasons for this long working hours.In these cases children will not get love and attention they want from parents when they are young or are sick. The downside of single working parents is job insecurity and not having enough money to support the family needs.

On the other hand, there are many successful working parents who amazingly balance their work and family life and spend time with their children. These families will have more financial freedom and do not worry even if one person loses a job for a short time. They will enjoy the better facilities like good housing, money for medical expenses, children’s education, vacation travel and other family needs. These parents’ children will learn to be independent from young age.

So to summarize, both working parents is inevitable in today’s demanding world and some people may be against this. In my opinion both working parents will be an advantage if they have a work-life balance and know how to give time to their children.