In 1939, David O Selznick produced a film of Margaret Mitchell’s Pulitzer Prize winning novel, Gone with the Wind. The movie proved to be among the most important in the history of world cinema. To this day, in fact, it remains the American box office champion when adjusted for inflation. In 1940, the film won a record-breaking eight Academy Awards, including Best Picture. Recently, however, Gone with the Wind has increasingly come under fire due to allegations of racism in the movie. Consequently, its reputation has fallen in many critical circles.

The film tells the story of a Southern family who fight on the side of the Confederacy in the American Civil War. Scarlett O’Hara, the main character, is a slave owner whose civilization goes to war to preserve the right to own and degrade African Americans. Life before the Civil War, during the days of slavery, is depicted as a golden age.

Scarlett’s maid and confidante, Mammy, is not even given a first name in the script. Meanwhile, Butterfly McQueen, who portrayed Prissy, a house servant whom Scarlett slaps across the face at one point in the film, was told by the director to deliver a hysterical performance emphasizing the character’s dim-wittedness, speaking to age-old negative stereotypes. Civil rights activist Malcolm X wrote of his embarrassment seeing Butterfly McQueen’s performance as Prissy that it made him want to crawl under the rug of the theater.

For all of these reasons, when watching Gone with the Wind today, modern viewers cannot help but feel admiration for how far the movie industry has come since its infancy. There is much to be embarrassed about in the early days of Hollywood films.

Summarize the points made in the lecture you just heard, explaining how they cast doubt on points made in the reading.

The issue of whether all university students should be required to take the history courses has ignited controversies. Granted, history is an important subject that should receive enough attention from the pedagogical institution, we should not impose it indiscrimitively on every students, without considering whether learning history is an beneficial to them.

In a competitive world, university students face a lot of challenges and are required to learn tons of knowledge from their respective field. Under such pressure, adding a complusory course about history will only increase their burden. they will regard learning history as chores rather than pay much attention to it. such enforcement will probably make students hate history, and will have the contrary effect of what is intended to do.

Besides, even if we only add one or two complusory courses, which seems not to be demanding for students, what contents should we teach on these few courses? history is a complex field which contains various approaches to access to it. should we focus the national or global hisotory? should we pay more attention to the history of the 20th centery or things before that? In terms of a specified historic event, should we analyze it from the economic view, the political view or the technological view? different students have different interests as well. Hence, to determine what should be imparted to the students is an almost impossible tasks. if we try to include all the subdivision of the history discipline, students will only have a cursory view of the history. what's worse, if the contents are not appropriately designed, false historical ideas may reside in students' mind.

Some people might argue that instead of forcing all the students to take a general history course, we can allow students to choose their inclined courses independently. However, since the courses designed for the history major, which discuss in-depth issues and require preliminary knowledge, may overburden the students, a number of introductory courses are required to be set up. it is unrealistic for the history department to set up so many courses, give that they are mostly a small department in most universities.

The aforementioned arguments have clearly showed the suggestions of complusory history courses is not pratical. we should encourge students to learn history by other means, such as holding history lectures, promote history club. The university should stimulate the students to learn history on their own.