— 2018.11.11 —

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The government is not doing enough work to educate people the important of nutrition and healthy eating.

Nowadays, with the increase in junk foods and fast food chains, our diet has become much more unhealthy than in the past, meaning the government should be teaching people about eating healthily, and people should avoid eating fast food. Some people believe that the government is doing well in educating us about eating healthily. However, I think that the government is doing nothing to educate us about living a healthy lifestyle, and I will explain why in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the government still hasn't made "Health and nutrition" a compulsory subject students have to take in schools. If governments made this a compulsory subject, kids will learn from a young age as to how harmful fast foods are. For example, if people did learn about healthy eating when they were young, they would only eat healthy foods, and wouldn't even go near fast foods, because they've learned about how damaging they are towards their bodies. Thus, these people won't be tempted to eat unhealthy foods because they've learned about how much fat and sugar they have, thus allowing them to live a healthy lifestyle. In comparison to a person who has never been educated about healthy eating, who would much rather choose junk food over healthy foods because they have never learned about how dangerous fast foods are towards people's bodies. This example shows how educating people about "Health and nutrition" when they were young will let people stay away from fast foods so their diets would only contain foods that were healthy and nutritious.

Secondly, the government still hasn't set any laws to regulate the price and advertising of unhealthy products. Somehow, the government still allows fast food companies to freely advertise and price their products, which is one of the main reasons why people want to eat these foods in the first place. And oftentimes, fast food companies make their foods in commercials look better than they actually are, so people would end up buying but then finding out it looked nothing like it did in the ad. For instance, if a person saw a commercial on TV about a huge mouth-watering cheeseburger, people would definitely go buy it but end finding out that it was different from the commercial. Also, fast food companies are allowed to make the prices of their products really low so consumers would choose it over other foods. For example, if a person saw a large pizza that cost only two dollars, they would certainly choose that over a salad that cost ten dollars. These two examples show that since the government doesn't have any laws about regulating fast-food companies, people will be drawn in by the cheap prices and advertising.

Admittedly, the government has spent a large amount of their money on medical care systems and public hospitals so medical services are accessible to nearly everybody. That way the health issues people get from eating unhealthy foods can be cured because of the medical services provided by the government. However, for people who live in rural areas, hospitals there will lack doctors with professional knowledge and clinical experience.

In conclusion, the government still isn't educating people enough about the importance of eating healthy foods.