3. Which do you prefer? An interesting and challenging job with less vacation or a job with more vacation time but less fun.

Some job-seekers contend that the break during their work counts the most when entering the workforce, while others give priority to their interests and challenges that come with the job. I, however, think this issue should be analyzed case by case.

For starters, if it is the young people that we are talking about, an interesting and challenging job is definitely what they should go for. It is because the youth tend to more motivated by their enthusiasm in the work and they can gain certain skills during their taking on and dealing with challenges, and this life experience is itself worthwhile already. Specifically, my personal experience can best illustrate this point. When I graduated from university as an English major student, I chose to be an English teacher which is my dream job when I was young. I really like to impart knowledge and inspire my students in the classroom. However, there were lots of difficulties for a fresh teacher. For instance, you have to learn how to motivate students to voice their opinion in a group class and take care of students at different levels of proficiency. Driving by my internal motivation of being a better teacher, besides teaching class in the daytime, I also invested a significant amount of time and efforts to know about all kinds of teaching methodologies in the western world such communicative language teaching method. After being a teacher for three years, I can better handle the classroom, and all those difficulties and challenges solidified a sound foundation for my career in the long run.

On the other hand, if it is the older generation that we now turn to, the optimal choice is the other way around. As for seniors or the middle-aged, they normally have a family to take care of some health problems to attend to. For them, a fine balance between work and life is the first factor to be considered. My father is a tenured college professor. His work might interest or challenge him as it did in ten or twenty years ago, but the annual summer and winter vacation actually offer opportunities to stay and travel with his family. I was raised in a happy family thanks to my dad being accompanied around at every stage of my life for all these years. His job might not be fun because he has been teaching the same stuff for years and working with papers without too much excitement, but in his age, which quoted from my father, the stability of a job and happy time with family members determine the quality of life.

To sum up, the ideal job type varies according to different age groups.