1. A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1) Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2) Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using the online material that each teacher will study individually.

Which one do you prefer?

The quality of teachers play a significant role on the producing of talents in school education. However, in the context of China, not enough training programs have been implemented to enhance the teaching skills of frontline teachers, especially in remote areas. Thus, as for me, providing additional training course through online materials will surely contribute to the balance of education development as a whole and enhance learning efficiency of individual teacher. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, online course makes it possible for teacher training course to reach high school teachers all over the city, which can largely promote education equality. To be specific, the status quo is that education development is extremely uneven even within one city, since most talents are attracted to some key schools which can provide more profitable jobs. Thus, teachers in those schools are likely to be known as excellent teachers and gain additional training opportunities than those in lesser-known schools, further enlarging the gap of education inequality. Thanks to technology, with online class platform such as Zoom, this problem could be largely solved. Since teachers in different schools are offered the same opportunities to take training course to upgrade their teaching skills. For instance, when English teachers in various high schools are exposed to the same advance teaching skills such as communicative language teaching, they have chance to practice such a teaching techniques in their own classroom to promote English learning of students in all high schools in the city.

Furthermore, allowing teachers to study online materials can indeed help cut the expense of school and enhance the learning efficiency. Just imagine, if high school teachers from different schools gather in one place to attend the training course, they need to stay in a hotel for several days since there are usually different separated districts in one city. Thus their school will have to pay for all the hotel expenses in addition to the train tickets, which could be a large cost for the school, especially lots of them are trying hard to cut down expenditure in recent years. Plus, it is hard for teachers to absorb all the information or techniques in such an intense training course. My personal experience can best illustrate this point. I once attended a four-week intense Celta course in the UK. In that month, I did nothing but took the class and complete all after-class homework. I felt burnt out in the second week and it was nearly impossible for me to focus during the class since I was so tired and sleep-deprived. As a result, I missed lots of essential points and had to review them after the training course by myself. Thus it will likely be the same for those teachers who took part in the intense training course. On the contrary, If they could study in their own pace in a relatively relaxing situation, they can better absorb those theories and have time to rethink and reflect them and even put them into classroom practice in the daily work.

To sum up, I support that teachers should learn online material individually for the benefits of education equality and saving the cost of school and promoting learning efficiency of teachers. (560)