The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

A good command of making friends with many people is widely acknowledged as a necessary and handy quality to bring happiness in today’s world. However, is it always the case? I hold the view that maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time overweighs making many friends easily.

I’m not denying the effectivity of making many new friends easily. Through making friends, you can receive responses for emotional outlets. Plus, useful, maybe even private and secret information will be available to you. This might help you in pursuing a successful career or making you be more welcomed by your colleagues or schoolmates, thus, bring you happiness. I once studied with a girl, who was literally good at communicating and exchanged tons of information every day. By repeating the process again and again, she knew almost everything around her. In this way, she prevented making lots of mistakes which I was usually ignorant of and fell into. Making many new friends is a handy skill, and strength in doing things bring happiness.

Nevertheless, through making lots of friends easily, you still cannot get everything you want. When you are defeated by something really vital, it’s not realistic to turn to those friends who you’ve only met once for help, because they may not truly have empathy for you. Under such circumstance, long-term friendships work well. The only way to regain your happiness is to stay with you real friend. To specify, I have a friend, Lora, who is enrolled in the same high school and the same university. At the end of high school, almost everyone was looking forward to thrilling campus life. Even so, I felt heart-broken for the inevitable breakup with my boyfriend, because we went into two universities far away from each other. Lora was the first and sole person I sought for help and comfort because I trust her. She did comfort me not only with words, but also spent a day with me playing in an amusement park. The solid trust is based on living and knowing each other for years. Only with a real friend will you feel assured and happy.

In a nutshell, it's easy to figure out the necessity of real and long-term friendships to keep a person happy or to make one happy. Making many friends easily may be helpful in other aspects, but it does little help to bring happiness. To feel joyful in friendships, the friends need to be authentic, ready to share and spend time together, at first.