The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is ?more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.?

Friendship has a critical role in people's lives. Most of them think that it is better to have a small group of friend with a strong relationship, on the other hand, others believe that bigger circles of relationship can be more beneficial. In my opinion, I agree with the former one for a couple of reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

First, when you have a small number of people around, you are able to be familiar with them more easily. To be more specific, you may recognize all of their feature, characteristic, and even you can remember their birthday. While, you are in bigger, varied relation, there is a possibility that you can't recall their name sometime. My friend's story is a compelling fact about this. She works in a marketing company and she used to contact different people. In this regard, she has made a huge number of relations with different people. Last month was her husband's birthday, and she was so busy with her friends. She was so busy that it made here to forget his closest, dearest person. As you can see, if she were less distracted by her outer relation, she wouldn't make her husband upset.

Secondly, as you have a small group of friends, you are sure that all of them care about you. In other words, they belong to a group of close individuals who can help you anytime anywhere you need them. On the other side, I think that more the wider you friendship circles are, the more impassionate people are around. For example, I have a group of friends that contains just 5 people and we are so close to each other. Last year, I got cold in my house, and I was alone so that I couldn't pour a glass of water for myself. Then, I decided to call one of my friends. He was in my house in a fraction of a second. He took me to the hospital and he looked after me for five days. Otherwise, had I big contact list, I would have died to reach one of them. This example showed me an intimate close friend can help you in any situation which is causing your happiness.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that a close and small band of friends over a long period of time is more effective than a massive group of them. Not only can you know them well, but also you can be sure that they care about you.