Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Writing and reading have continuously developed during centuries, spreading all over the world. People use different dialects, signs and languages to communicate, which is highly useful in daily life. From my point of view, the ability to read and write is far more important than in the past, due to the fact that these form the base of education and because almost every action implies using them. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

First and foremost, reading and writing are important for every individual's future, because only by this they can have a successful career. In other words, being literate is essential in educational and working processes. Moreover, if a person cannot perform these two activities, he is unable to read, understand and sign a contract. Furthermore, illiterate persons are forced to accept low paid jobs, and according to international statistics, many people work without having any kind of legal commitment. Therefore, they are deprived of numerous rights such as health and retirement benefits, which affects negatively their existence. My neighbors experience is a compelling example. He did not feel well, but he refused to go to the hospital because he did not have an insurance or any other resources to pay. One day, he fainted and his brother called the ambulance, and when blood test came out he found that he had terminal cancer. After three days he died. Thus, reading and writing are vital for our future, from all the points of view.

Second, a great variety of daily activities are related to reading different panels, announcements, posters, schedules and so forth. In essence, people use this system while going to the shopping, using mass transportation, finding addresses, filling forms, requests, complainants, reading laws and regulations etc. Additionally, people live in a modern society which is regulated by thousands of rules that must be respected, and if someone breaks them he can not defend by saying that he is not able to read and that's why he did not know the rule. Consequently, such a behavior can cost his freedom. Not to mention that uneducated people struggle when they have to deal with outside world. For instance, one of my neighbor, who was 50, asked me to teach her reading because she had difficulties every time when she was going in the city. It took her around six months to study reading, but eventually she succeeded. Plus, I noticed a change in her attitude, as she seemed to be more confident.

To summarize, reading and writing are definitely more significant nowadays, than in the past centuries. This is because they are imperative for building a career and because they ease people's lives.