Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that satisfying human needs is a higher priority than preserving natural habitat for endangered species. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, allowing individuals and businesses to utilize more resources, such as more land and more raw materials, will decrease poverty and will have a positive impact on the society as a whole. With the rising in human population on the planet, more resources are required to meet the increasing demands for commodities. Keeping vast areas of lands untapped in the name of protecting wildlife seems preposterous to me. To clarify, a large population with limited access to resources could lead to a hike in the cost of living and more importantly, more people would find themselves falling below poverty lines. Although conserving the natural beauty of Earth sounds like something we need to pay attention to, our priority should go first to improving the quality of life of fellow human beings.

Secondly, extinction is adamantly a part of species existence. It's well-known that almost half of all the species that were once abundant died out even before the evolution of humans. Why are we so occupied by saving other species and the planet? some people claim that every species we have today is somehow significant for a so-called ecological balance. However, I believe this argument is flawed since humans drove many animal species to extinction and no major disaster happened to the environment. I can mention here examples like the Tasmanian tiger and different kinds of mammoths.

Lastly, enforcing laws to protect certain habitats would be costly for governments. Allocating large sums of money to law enforcement agencies and courts would be needed to make sure the lands are protected for wild animals. Low-income people who are not able to make it through the middle-class would be more dissatisfied with their hypocrtical officials who would appear more caring for animals while some people cannot afford the cost of basic needs like healthcare and housing. In other words, developed countries are dedicating millions of dollars for species preservation; hiring more law enforcement personnel to enact endangered species laws, purchasing surveillance technology to ensure no one is building on these regions. Not all governments can afford to do that since they have other problems that they have to observe. Hence, spending millions of dollars on species preservation will be a cause for public discontent.

To conclude, I strongly concur with the opinion that fully exploiting national resources is far more important than leaving huge land masses untouched. This is because all states have a specific proportion of their population still cannot meet their basic needs and budgets should be devoted to these more important issues.