Agree or disagree, the most important thing for the governments to improve healthcare is to clean the environment.

As government expenditure on healthcare is getting higher, improving healthcare is important. However, what should government to do to improve healthcare is a highly debated topic. While some people believe the most important thing is to clean the environment, I hold the view that other things are more important.

To begin with, government hopes to improve health as soon as possible, but cleaning the environment may not reach that goal immediately. For instance, no one can tell do people get healthier after government clean the trash on the streets. On the other hand, if authority allocates the budget to reimburse the fee for treatment or medicine for sick people, we know that people would get healthier. Thus, government should invest its resources on other projects which are more practical rather than cleaning the environment.

In the second place, government cares about people and taking care of most people is its priority, but making environment cleaner does not benefit most people. To illustrate, cleaning all the land in a country is impossible for an administration, so it must pick one area to clean first, which would no doubt be the big city instead of countryside, and as a result, it would be unfair for people who live in the countryside. Nonetheless, if government provides financial aid for buying medicine, everyone living in the country can take advantage of the policy.

Last but not least, even if the environment is cleaned and some people get healthier, the desired effect will not last long. Take my country as an example. Twenty years ago, it successfully made the country cleaner and probably made people healthier by forbidding factories to effluent waste water in the river. However, a new problem hurting health, the air pollution, emerged because of increased use of cars. Furthermore, when the authority tried to reduce the carbon dioxide emitted by cars, another environmental issue raised; sand storms coming from other country harmed our people’s health. That is, the most important thing for the governments to improve healthcare is not to clean the environment because although the method works for a while, other environment issues come and hurt people’s health again.

In summary, cleaning environment does not reach government’s goal of improving healthcare, since government emphasizes efficiency and hopes to take of most citizens. Even if cleaning environment seems works, the desired impact disappears soon.