Agree or disagree, people today spend time doing thing they like to do rather than doing things they should do?

Since the beginning of the last century, our world has become more advance than before. Although there is a variety of entertainment, people nowadays could not enjoy this advanced technology. However, this is a solid body of opinion that casts doubt on these beliefs. From my personal point of view, people today spend too much time doing thing they should do rather than doing things they have to given that life today is so competitive, stressful, and expensive. Below I ill strive to explain my supporting points in more details.

The foremost point, life today has become so expensive which enforces people to work more. A survey conducted by the National Association of Finance in California found that many people today want to work full-time rather than part-time. Moreover, "provided that" people work 40 hours a week, they will not have extra time for enjoyment. Consequently, the high cost of living obligates people to work more.

Coupled with the expensive standing of living , the stress is another reason why people spend more time doing things. For example, in the industrial developed countries such as USA and Canada , both parents in a family are under severs stress not only because they both should work as hard as they can, but also they have lots of responsibilities such as taking care of their kids, paying a mortgage, and doing grocery shopping. Therefore, people today under plenty of stress, they hardly find extra time for relax or enjoy.

One final point, the job market has ben so competitive. For example, the software engineers in the Silicon Valley should take courses in their free time in order to keep themselves updated with the current technological inventions. Furthermore, provided that people want to get a good job, they should be constantly studying. I believe in the famous proverb which states “time is greater than gold in term of value”. As a result, to be qualified professionals in this competitive market, people do not have extra time for enjoyment.

Taking everything into a consideration, without a doubt people today spend their time doing things they should do. It is suggested that people compromise and ensure that they achieve responsibility/enjoyment life balance.