All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

University courses lay a very solid academic foundation for the future development of college students. Facing the great selections of these courses, some people say that, history classes are supposed to be compulsory for college students, for the reason that they could be more familiar with the advancement and evolution of human society. I disagree the statement. I believe that despite minor merits, asking students of all majors to attend history classes would cause problems.

Firstly, history courses would put more academic pressure on students. College students have already had to study many theories and professional subjects related to their majors. Meanwhile, their schedule is very tight. For instance, a medical student is not only obliged to finish the professional papers for credit, but he also needs to seek an opportunity to get clinical experience. With heavy load, he could not afford to take any irrelevant courses, such as history. In this case, schools should not add this course, because students would worry whether they could finish their homework on time and how they could pass the tough final examination.

In addition, a required history course may lead to unnecessary cost for students. To guarantee quality of lecturing, colleges have to hire talented and senior history professors and experts, such as those from the best-known universities or history research institutes. This would definitely increase the cost of schooling. Normally, a lecture given by a famous history professor costs over 1,000 dollars. These high costs show directly in the tuition fee, which may deprive poverty-stricken students of a precious opportunity for education.

Admittedly, taking history courses does have its merits. Students could learn to prevent repeating the mistakes of the past. For instance, they would learn about the cause of the world wars and other bloody battles that claimed millions of lives. Students could also gain a better understanding of current issues by studying historical events. For example, by studying the American Revolution a student could be enlightened on the current world democracy. However, this knowledge could be mostly acquired by other approaches other than required courses. History seminars, TV documentaries and books are all available options for students to learn about history.

In conclusion, although there are some small benefits to require a history course, making every college student take a history course would overburden the students both academically and financially. Furthermore, students could obtain the advantage that a required history course could offer by other ways.