Are government doing good in educating people to pay attention to the importance of the food nutrition and healthy eating

Without a shadow of a doubt, governments play a pivotal role in societies’ mental and physical health. An unanswered question in this area is whether governments are sufficiently promoting public awareness about the significance of healthy diets. Although some arguments people are careful about their meal and healthcare, I believe otherwise, maintaining that most people, especially juveniles are oblivious about their eating. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

The first exquisite point corroborating my stance on this subject is current laws permit TV commercials to glorify innutritious eating and junk foods. Given hectic lifestyles, most people do not have adequate time to cook their meals themselves, so fast foods have become broadly popular, especially among juveniles. On the other hand, TV advertisements and social media adversely affect people and encourage them to consume food like soft drinking, potato chips, and candy bars, to name but a few. Governments allow these companies not only to sell their products but also to advertise whenever they want. Consequently, people take for granted that these foods are not too healthy, eliminating them from their food habits.

Another reason to be mentioned is that many people are suffering from serious diseases resulting from unhealthy diets. Obesity is common among adolescents because their diets consist of high-calorie and low nutritious foods, and their parents do not discourage children from eating junk food. Schools do not employ effective ways to inform students about the long-term effects of poor nutrition, nor do they ban selling calorie-dense products therein. Moreover, most elderly people have symptoms of high pressure and diabetes. If TV programs allocate considerable time for health-related issues, treatment and drug supply expenditures will decrease substantially. For example, a survey conducted in my country revealed that one-fourth of individuals over the age of 50 probably would experience heart illness, and the government would expense about twenty million dollars for curing them.

Reflecting upon the grounds mentioned above, one soon realizes the government policies have weaknesses for promoting healthy and high nutrition eating.