Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with increasing world complexity, many individuals believe that they are less satisfied than their ancestors. I, personally, both agree and disagree with this viewpoint because of several conspicuous reasons which will be elaborated as follows.

On the one hand, People in the past used to spend more time with their families. They not only used to work with each other, but also prefer to live together as a big family. However, today with these rapid changes in lifestyle, the rate of big families has drastically mitigated, which means people prefer not to be even with their families. This condition makes a lot of problems for individuals, due to the fact that they obligate to solve their problems in solitude rather than giving some valuable support from their acquaintances; consequently, the dissatisfaction rate of societies will enhance. Therefore, I believe that these changes have a negative effect on individuals’ emotions.

Additionally, although I accept the fact that people had to work harder in the past, the time occupation for working was less than now, for its complexity. It is crystal clear that job competition has noticeably increased during the last decades, for rapid changes in technology. Therefore, people are in more pressure and stressful situation than before. They believe that they can easily lose their job position unless they are perfect and professional in their career. Therefore, I admit this idea that individuals’ happiness has decreased considerably.

On the other hand, technology promotion has a remarkable influence on people’s lifestyle. According to Google, the rate of disease and dead has declined as approximately only 2% of pregnant women die. This rate was much more in the past. Moreover, several instruments, such as cars, refrigerators, have invested, which enhance people convenient.

All in all, I totally agree with the statement and support my opinion in the previous paragraphs. As can be seen, individuals used to spend more leisure time with less work dissatisfaction rate than now. Therefore, there were much happier, for they did not have to adapt their selves with the world rapid changes.