The best way for a government to solve the air pollution is raising gas prices. Do you agree or disagree?

People often possess different perspectives on whether the best way for a government to solve the air pollution is raising gas prices. While some think that raising gas price is the best way, others think otherwise. As for as I am concerned, I totally believe that improving public transportation system is a better way. Based on my observations, I tend to agree with the later.

First of all, the government cares about its reputation, and improving public transportation system can boost its reputation. For example, in 2008, the government was suffered from the loss of its poll because of the world economy crisis and high unemployment rate resulted from the crisis. Therefore, the government started to put budget in various kinds of public services, and expand the covered area of metro was included. Surprisingly, the government’s poll was not only recovered, but also, the party won the next year election and kept its place in the office

Secondly, the government places emphasis on its citizens, and raising gas prices can do harm to its citizen. For instance, I live in a poor family, and my father has to drive to work every day, if the government raise gas prices, my father would have to spend more money on gas, and this would strongly damage the life quality of my family. On the other hand, if the government choose to improve public transportation system, not only my father can sell the car and take bus or metro to work, but also, I can take public transportation to school, which will largely reduce the amount of money our family spends on travel. Apparently, raising gas price is not the best way.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe the government should improve public transportation system rather than raise gas prices. After all, improving public transportation system will help the government boost its reputation, and do no harm to its citizens.