books

Is reading novels and books more enjoyable than watching a movie? In this essay I state that, personally I prefer reading fiction instead of watching fiction over watching movies as a hobby.

While I enjoy watching movies, more often than not, I find myself reading novels and web novels quite regularly. The enjoyment that comes from slowly unveiling complicated stories and imagining how a certain place might look like according to the descriptions given is far more entertaining to me that just simply watching.

Also, I came with the realization that I enjoy books more than movies while reading “IT”, just reading about the places, situations, and changes that the main antagonist made the losers club go through just can’t be properly replicated by the seventh art.

On the one hand, we have complicated storylines, intricate scenarios, inner thoughts of important characters, the possibility to read anywhere (on a bus, the park, etc.) and even images that would be too crude or controversial to be put on a screen.

But movies have their charm too.

On the other hand, films provide with a flow that is impossible for books to imitate they also provide a medium that is easy to understand for most people and are designed to capture your attention with more than just the script. Soundtracks and special effects play a major role in capturing the viewer’s attention but require a certain amount of time that not many have to spare until the story is over.

Additionally, the depth of storytelling achieved in movies in far inferior to that of novels and books, missing out on character development.

Consequently, as stated in the beginning of this essay, due to a more detailed characterization of conflicts, the exposition of the inner thoughts of many characters, the accessibility and ease that the reader has when deciding when and where to read I prefer reading fiction over watching movies.