Broccoli

Broccoli is a vegetable that is popular throughout the United States, but it can be grown only in temperate climates with mild summers. Because of this limitation, 90 percent of the broccoli consumed in the United States is grown in the cooler regions of California, on the West Coast. It must be shipped 4:000 kilometers across the entire country to reach the populous East Coast

For 3 main reasons this is better to grow Broccoli locally:

Frist is the Price of transportation, When importing Brroceli from other countries its price has consisted of transportation cost plus other costs, So it affects on the total price.It is cheaper for the local costumer to serve this vegetable on their counters.

The second reason is a type of broccoli. The new broccoli is being created using traditional breeding techniques: researchers are crossbreeding broccoli with other similar plants that have desirable characteristics. Genetically modified crops are very controversial and it cause customers to feel they are unsafe and reject the product.

The third reason is health,It is imported to use the vegetables freshly. When grown Broccoli locally it can be eaten much sooner after it is cut,So their beneficial nutrients and vitamins are still reminded of them and, Also it helps to save time and prevent of wasting time.