Capitalism

After the collapse of Communism, most of the countries selected capitalism as their economic system. Capitalism comes from capital that means in this system factor of production especially the capital is under the possession of individuals and firms, not the government. Capitalism has some characteristics like private property, freedom of enterprise and choice, self – interest, and competition.

Private property means that private individuals and firms own most of the factor of production but also the government owns a proportion of capital and land but mostly private individuals own most proportion of them. The right of private property enables individuals to utilize their own resources for their own benefits.

Freedom of enterprise and choice is one the most common principle of capitalism. Freedom means you’re free to produce goods and services that people demand. It is one the basic questions of economics that what should be produced? And capitalism answer what people want. In this term people are also free to choose among different goods and services and their wants and demand will determine the products. Although everyone is free to produce goods and services, it doesn’t mean that the government won’t involve on devotion of resource and even involving on production system. Government interfere by fiscal and monetary policies in devotion of resources. Also government will interfere bye tax on keeping the environment.

Self – interest doesn’t mean selfish but means every economic unite wants to maximize their own benefits. When someone work hard and gain some money and then spend it whit his family or pay his/her children tuitions, food expenses or other expenses in fact she or he helping others. When a person pay for a charity means that he or she is helping others. So self – interest does not mean that in this system no one helps others.

Competition is one the principles of capitalism and means that firms and individuals for selling their products and resources will compete each other. Competition doesn’t mean antagonism but making better their products and resources. So competition should be supported by law and the government will eliminate the monopolies and cartels.

Capitalism with having some characteristics like private property, freedom, self – interest and competition become acceptable for most nations. Private property that allow individuals and firms to own land and capital, freedom allow people to produce or utilize goods and services. Self – interest means that everyone tries to make better their products to achieve higher benefits. And finally competition means rivalry between people about using the resources. Capitalism with these characteristics can be the world economic system.