children should not be allowed to play computer games

Having glimpse of the game situation in the world, we will be marveled at the variety of computer games that children like. In today’s world, playing computer games is an integral part of children’s daily life. Many children like to play computer games when they have leisure time. recently, a controversial proposal was brought to public eye, suggesting that children should not be allowed to play with them in that playing computer games is a waste of time. From my point of view, I cannot agree with it more because playing computer games cost much money and time.

To begin with, playing computer games leads children to bad performance in school. Attracted by computer games that become more fancy and attractive than they were before, many children cannot resist the beautiful characters and exciting plot as well as fancy clothes in the games, which, as a result, leads to addiction to computer games and spend much time on it. Some of them virtually spend all their leisure time and energy on games instead of doing homework or reading, which gives rise to failure in exams and blame from parents. For example, my brother was addicted to Overwatch, a popular shooting game among the teenagers, when he was in high school. Hardly did he do homework or review for tests at home due to the fact he devoted all his time to games and left not enough time for study. Without a doubt, he got many D in his final exams.

Furthermore, playing games costs much money, which even leads to crime. To illustrate, everyone in this world wants to be stronger. This is same with virtual characters in the games. In order to make their beloved virtual characters more powerful or beautiful, children would invest their pocket money, what is worse, some of them may steal from their parents if they do not have enough money. Take my friend Micheal as an example, who was once a lovely boy with a kind heart. However, when he was addicted to League of Legends, another prevailing game, everything changed. He spent all his money earned from part-time on this game, and even stole money from his classmates. It is a shame for him that he is in jail now.

Admittedly, as a common notion denotes, every coin has two sides. Even though we testify to the drawbacks of computer games, it does not mean all computer games doing harm to children. I concede some games are good for children’s intelligence and mental health, including chess and some poke games. Nevertheless, children may still become addicted to them if they are not controlled properly.

To sum up, playing computer games not only cost children much time, but also leads students to bad performance in school. In considering all the details mentioned above, there is every reason to believe that children should not be allowed to play with them.