In the circumstances of the present-day world, children should be given every encouragement to regard the learning of several languages as normal; to suggest the contrary seems both prejudiced and harmful.

In the era of globalisation, where the value of being multilingual has risen dramatically, many parents have encouraged their children to commence their learning of foreign languages at a young age. Some people call for normalisation of such behaviour, and consider the opposite school of thought "prejudiced" and "harmful." Personally, I highly support the trend of motivating young children to learn a foreign language; however, the aforementioned brandings for the opposite course of action can be too extreme. The following essay will outline the reasons for my opinion.

Firstly, by allowing children to learn foreign language as a young age, they will learn to build tolerance and intercultural understanding. A language is a vessel for a culture to express itself. Take the example of our own mother tongue, Vietnamese, where everything from idioms to slang words reflect the life of the creators' generation. By having a glimpse into the history and the thought process of an ethnicity, one can learn to sympathise with that group of people. This is especially true for children, whose young minds can quickly absorb the values presented to them, in a world where they are expected to be tolerant and accepting to people of different backgrounds.

Secondly, by studying of a foreign language at a young age, children can easily develop an intuition for the language. With enough exposure, they can easily learn what is "proper" usage and what is "improper." They can intuitively know which words go well together, and which words do not. One can certainly acquire this ability during adulthood, but more often than not, they are too bogged down by trying to find the reasoning behind everything to truly develop this "intuition." A recent survey among Spanish learners can demonstrate this, where over 80% of respondents who began learning the language during childhood claim to have this "intuition," yet less than 20% of adult learners can claim the same.

However, to call the opposite view prejudiced is too extreme. Discouraging the acquisition of foreign languages can be harmful, when its aim is to block the development of positive values within children. Yet, more often than not, the intent for such behaviour is less insidious: parents not wanting their children to mix language up, or children not expressing an affinity for foreign language acquisition. Moreover, a prejudiced behaviour can only cause widespread harm if it is done on a wide scale. A lawmaker drafting a law to ban all language learning of a generation with the agenda of discrimination is certainly harmful, but a concerned parent doing the same out of fear that their child may not be able to speak their mother tongue well may be not.

To conclude, children who are encouraged to learn foreign languages at a young age can develop two valuable skills for the modern world: a tolerance for others and an intuition for the language. Therefore, they should be encouraged to begin their language learning journey at a young age. However, before branding any one who discourages such learning "prejudiced," one should take into account the intent behind such a decision.