Consider a situation where you are asked by your supervisor to work with one of your co-workers on a project. This co-worker has opinions that are very different than yours and they feel very strongly about these opinions. Do you think this is a good idea? Use reasons and examples to support your answer

This scenario of having to work with colleagues with very diffferent opinions has been experienced by almost all working professionals around the world.This scenario might be for good, and there is no reason to fret over it, as companies have robust decision making structures that depend on facts and data only, and also this setup can lead to better ideas and fresh ways of thinking.

The first reason this is a good idea and it might work is that in any organisation, decision making, ideally, should not be made on opinions, and should be based on concrete facts, and thus difference in opinion between employees should not matter. Organisations should look at data and trends before making a decision, instead of relying on their employees opinions. Let us consider an example of a new product launch in a company. The product is conceptualized and launched with a huge amount of market research data and customer survey trends. Companies do not launch product based on opinions, as they know this can fall flat on its face. Therefore, it is clear that in a good decision making process, the difference in opinion beteen employees should not matter.

Secondly, working with people with different perspectives and opinions can be a great source of learning for oneself. There is a famous saying that goes as follows – “We don’t see the world as it is, we see the the world as we are.” We often tend to see the world through the lens of our opinions, which often makes many situations murky, and we may fail to see the larger picture. Working ith people with diffferent opinions, we have one more perspective to look at the issue from, which can lead to new ideas and avenues.As an example, consider a soccer coach, having an assistant coach having a very different football philosophy and belonging to different school of thought. This combination can bring together a lot more to the table, as they can read different opponents better, and the coaches could have lot of learnings of each other.

Thus, the decision of the supervisor to make people of different opinions to work together is a good one. This is a common scenario in the professional world, and it is good because It does not affect a data and fact based decision making process and secondly, it gives each person fresh vies and perspectiv es on the problem, leading to better learning.