The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

The premise of Technological advancement as a means to give humans more leisure time is a rather interesting idea. Technological advancement has been there ever since the discovery of fire and then the invention of wheel. So, let us review what the said technological advancement has brought to us till date, and then discuss what it might have in store for us in the future

The goal of of technological advancement ever since the aforementioned invention of the heel, has been to improve the efficiency of humans. Mankind has improved leaps and bounds in terms of connectivity and movement of materials. We are able to transmit and receive data from any part of the world within nanoseconds, and are capable of transporting people across the globe within hours. Our healthcare is in a much better shape, and as a clear evidence, our mortality rates are decreasing. Overall, it is more than fair to say that Technological advancement has in fact improved people’s efficiency.

But the next question that arises is, has that necessarily lead us to have more leisure time? The answer, whether you ask a millennial student or a working professional or a retired person, would be a resounding NO. It has DECREASED moreover, I would say. This paradoxical decrease in leisure time with improvement in technology does have some attributable causes. First is that the improved connectivity and mobility afforded by technological advancement has given us more to do. It has widened the perspectives of each individual, and given us more things to tick of our bucketlists, more places to visit, more knoledge to gain, more people to meet so on and so forth.

This phenomenon is not necessarily a bad consequence of technological advancement. I would argue that it is a good unintended development, which we also should know how to control and slow down occasionally. My outlook for the future of technological advancement is also the same. It will sure improve humans efficiency in all ways possible, but we humans, as curious as the explorers we are, will constantly find more to do in lieu of our widening horizons. Its Catch-22 situation that we can be glad we fund ourselves in