In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we

Through a comparison with nearby Omni University, the president of Humana University argues that by initiating and promoting online degrees, Humana University could increase enrollment and better balance the books. She comes to this conclusion by contrasting the fall in expenditures at Omni University (which has seen a 50 percent increase in online enrollment) with the static enrollment and increasing maintainance costs of Humana University. The president's argument is plausible, but it relies on a number of assumptions that would need to be more closely examined for us to have confidence in her conclusion.

Broadly speaking, the president makes assumptions about the explanations for both the apparent recent success of Omni University, and the problems observed at Humana University. I will discuss these in turn.

The president makes the (stated) asumption that the reason for the decrease in Omni's dormitory and classroom expenditure is the increase in online instruction taking place via the Internet. Implicitly, this assumes that the fall in expenditure resulted from a reduction in 'foot fall' - there are fewer students using the dormitories and (physical) classrooms, so the costs arising from these has fallen, presumably because either fewer dormitories and classrooms are needed, or they are suffering less wear and tear. But there are other possible reasons for the reduction in costs. For example, Omni may have increased the efficiency with which these physical facilities are maintained. Perhaps they put cleaning and building contracts out to tender, and have been able to maintain the same facilities at lower cost. Alternatively, they may be saving money now by letting the facilities fall into disrepair - which is unlikely to be a policy that Humana would wish to replicate. If the reduction in dormitory and classroom costs is unrelated to the increase in online enrollment, then the president's argument would not be supported by the example of Omni University.

Turning to Humana University, the president makes unstated assumptions about the reasons for both the stagnant enrollment and the increased building costs. Over the past few years, enrollment at Humana has failed to grow, and the president assumes that this is related to a lack of growth in online enrollment. But we do not even know whether there has been lack of growth in online enrollment at Humana - this is merely assumed. Even if both online and physical enrollment have been stagnant, the president assumes that promotion of online degree programs would lead to an increase in enrollment. But this assumes that the lack of (or lack of awareness about) online programs is the reason for the stagnant enrollment. Instead, there may be other - deeper - reasons for Humana's lack of growth. For example, Humana's fees may be too high to attract applicants, or it may not have a good reputation for quality. These problems may not be solved by promoting online degrees, which would undermine the president's claim. Instead, competitive fees and/or improvements in quality may be more important for both online and physical enrollment.

The president also appears to assume that Humana's increasing maintainance cost is driven by there being too many physical students, and that increasing the proportion of online students would stem the rising expenditure. But - as with Omni's maintainance costs - there may be other factors more important than the number of physical students. Perhaps the buildings are not being maintained in the most efficient way, in which case efficiency savings may be able to keep costs down just as well as a shift to online instruction. Alternatively, the buildings could be old and intrinsically difficult to maintain, in which case investment in more modern infrastructure may lead to cost savings in the long wrong. These and other possibilities would undermine the president's assumed link between maintainance costs and online enrollment.

In short, the president assumes a causal link between the relative shares of online enrollment and the relative maintainance costs at Omni and Humana, as well as a causal link between Humana's stagnant enrollment numbers and its lack of online instruction. But there are other possible explanations for all of these phenomena which would need to be ruled out before we could accept the president's conclusion.