D/A: Competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships.

10) D/A: Competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships.

Given the topic whether competition will damage friendships, some people think that competition may result in hatred among friends since everyone wants to defeat others, so competition certainly does no good to relationships between friends. It seems to be true. That being said, however, I believe that friends benefit from competition because is strengthens their friendships, whenever studying, working, or just enjoying their leisure time.

On one hand, competition is of great significance to maintain friendships, because only by competition can we realize the importance of friends who are worthy opponents. This happens every day in schools where students study together, or in companies and factories where workers work together. It is common that people compete when they are doing the same things. Since everyone just wants to be the best, the competition leads to assiduous students and hard-working workers. Consequently, the academic performance of students, as well as productivity of workers, will be improved, as they work hard when competing with each other. There is an old saying that it takes a fight for people to know each other. Furthermore, after benefiting from the competition, people will realize that it is essential to have worthy opponents when improving themselves. When people live together, get to know each other, and finally find out that they can learn from each other, friendship is easily built. Eventually, those who are not friends in the beginning will become friends during competition, and competition also creates closer bonds between those who are already friends.

On the other hand, friendships are strengthened by competition, because the competition during the time of studies or work, also reveals that friends are indispensable partners. During the leisure time, people often play sports or games with friends for relaxation. Competition in sports and games is necessary. And competition with friends in these activities does not result in any hatred, but conversely leads to much happiness. One needs to play tennis or badminton with the other player. And it is much more interesting to play games, such as chess or poker, with friends than play them alone. On the contrary, if there were no competition in these activities, people could hardly have any fun. More precisely, without friends who are always willing to compete with us, these activities are nothing but boredom. Therefore, we enjoy the competition, especially competition with friends in these activities. Competition here is actually a synonym for accompany. Thus, the friendships are strengthened by competition, because of the enjoyment of accompany from friends during these activities, no matter who wins the competition.

To draw a conclusion, on the basis of the analysis above, I think competition has positive effects on friendships in general, since competition always reminds us of the importance of friends, as either worthy opponents or indispensable partners.