Do you agree of disagree with the following statement

It is better to marry someone who is similar to you, rather than someone who is different from you.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Marriages are made in heaven, it is said. However, when presented with a choice, I think it is better to marry a person who is different from you, instead of one who may have similar choices, likes and dislikes.

Agreed that having same tastes and preferences may limit altercations on certain aspects, however, it does not guarantee that blissful marriage. For instance, in case of a couple, where both are IT professionals, it is likely that both are going to have similar work hours and same troubles related to work, thus not being able to spend quality time with each other. Further, if there is a recession in the sector, chances are that both may end up losing their jobs.

In contrast, we all have heard that "variety is the spice of life", and it is likely to be true in case of nuptials. If two people are different from each other, they both can enjoy what the other likes or dislikes. To illustrate this point, let us look at an example. Say for instance, the husband likes to visit warm beaches whereas the wife is a snow person. When planning a vacation, they have two options (instead of one, if, say, they had both liked beaches only). In fact, like a sensible couple, they can plan vacations to both places and enjoy the benefits of two-in-one. Maybe they can start with a seashore and move on to some colder places or vice versa. Thus, it is profitable to be married to a personal who has dissimilar tastes.

In case of relationships, another saying that we often hear is that "opposites attract". This is true, especially in my personal case. To elaborate, I am a more serious kind of a person, whereas my better half is more relaxed and fun-loving. This keeps the milieu at home very pleasant. In fact, my husband often, only half-jokingly, says, that had I married someone "my type", the house would always have had a "sombre and boring environ." Alternately, I am the more meticulous one, and thus he knows that he can leave certain tasks, such as maintaining records of bills, up to me. This ensures that both of us do not get fussy about details, and saves a lot of time and energy that can be used in other chores.

To sum up, I would say "to each his own". If two similar persons can get along, very well. However, personally I feel that it is better to be married to a dissimilar person.