Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: It is better to marry someone who is similar to you, rather than someone who is different from you. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Marriage is one of the most important relationships in life. Virtually everyone at a certain point in their life dreams about having a long-lasting partner that only death can break up. Although some people may prefer getting married to someone different, I believe it is better to marry a person with your same values, tastes, and a way of seeing life.

The first reason why I have this point of view is that marriage would more enjoyable with someone similar to you. You can do the same entertaining activities, go to the same places, and agree on several topics. For instance, let's suppose you are an ambitious, wealthy man who loves luxurious cars, of well-known brand names, such as Rolls Royce, Maserati, etc. And your wife also loves these kinds of automobiles, you both would be happy to save money to purchase an amazing car. Consequently, both lovers would have fun dreaming together, going to cars exhibitions, and so on. On the other hand, if that very same man had a wife who does not like cars at all, and she loved expensive bags and clothes instead, for her it would not be nice that you want to spend all your money in a "stupid" car. Additionally, she might try to persuade you that clothes are more important than cars and you probably will never buy the car of your dreams. As a result, this partner would not have a complete pleasant marriage due to different tastes.

Second, it is more likely to last a longer time together if you have the same perspective on life. Irreconcilable differences are a common cause of divorce. For couples who think too different is difficult to adapt to the other person. To be specific, if you are an atheist, feminist woman married a Christian man, you would probably have different opinions from your husband about controversial topics. You man may be participating in a pro-life event, while you are in a rebellious mob destroying everything you see to express your anger because you do not have your right to decide giving birth to a baby. At the end of the day, you and your husband may see each other furiously, and then, you begin a discussion. After several weeks of quarrels and drama, you cannot tolerate that situation anymore, and you will decide to go away and not to see you ex-husband anymore. So, as marriages with different beliefs are more likely to discuss, then they are more likely to last less time together.

In summary, I think that marriage partners should be more similar since it is more fun and they are likely to have a longer, calmer relationship.