Do you agree of disagree with the following statements? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the competition of applying to prestigious schools becomes more and more intense, students tried harder than ever in order to obtain higher grades. This would make them more competitive among thousands of applicants. Their motivations to learn essentially originate from it. Therefore, I strongly agree that marks encourage students to learn.

Nowadays, ranking systems are pervasive in typical Chinese high schools. They are all designed to keep students informed of their grades among their peers, and thus to motivate them to work harder. If a student ranks below the average of their peers, their teachers and parents will not be satisfied with their performance and will push them to study harder. Thus, the external force also plays an important function for encouraging those students. Plus, student themselves can also feel shamed for their low rankings, so they are likely to try harder to prove themselves, having more energies to learn.

Grades can also motivate students' learning in another way, that is, fulfilling the wish of going to their dreamed schools or getting their desired jobs. Students study to prepare themselves ready for the next stage of their lives, and that is, either receiving a higher education or getting a job. In this scenario, grade is something that students can not neglect. Good schools and companies always look for those who achieved high grades in their previous education experience, proving that they are more capable for the position than others. Hence, if they want to become more competitive, students always want to ensure a nice grade by studying hard. This is originated from the bottom of their heart, the impulse of chasing their dreams, to seek for a better life and a better self. Such impulse is extremely strong and unprecedented.

To sum up, grade can encourage students to learn in two ways: to achieve a good position in the school's ranking system and to chase for their dreams by making themselves more competitive.