Do you agree with the following statement? Do people benefit more from traveling in their own country than in a foreign country?

Nowadays, travelling has not only become an excellent way to get away from the daily life for a leisure and relax, but also an efficient means to broaden one’s horizons. But a controversy that how to choose our destination of our trip has come into our sight. Some people hold the point of view that traveling in their own country will be more conducive to them while others hold opposite ideas that it will be better to have a long journey abroad. As far as I’m concerned, both choices are equally advantageous to us.

On the one hand, traveling abroad can help us grasp a marvelous opportunity to further our understanding of foreign countries to a larger degree. Indeed, only after stepping onto the foreign land in person, can someone get an overall and comprehensive view of the real life of local citizens. And you can immerse yourself in the real culture surroundings that used to be written in books or showed in the screen, which is second-hand information. For instance, before I traveled to India, the image of this country demonstrates that it is poor and keep pace with the modernization of the whole world. The stories and pictures also exhibit that this country is stuffed with discrimination and prejudice of women. However, once involved in the interactions with local people, I could vividly experience the friendly way they entertain guests, and the cuisine there is delicious as well. Women from every walk of life there are sparing no efforts to fighting for their own rights, leaving impressive memory in my brain. Thus, on no account should we contend that we are familiar with an alien country without paying a visit to it on our own.

On the other hand, the significance of traveling in our motherland also should be mentioned. Needless to say, speaking the same language, we can easily have intimate contacts with the local and can push our communication to a deep degree. To illustrate, a visit to Shandong province, situated in the eastern part of China, may be viewed as marvelous chance to appreciate their own unique culture. You can also enjoy different attractions and food there without consideration of behaving improperly. Moreover, the apprecition of the magnificent scenic spots within the nation such as Mountain Tai, make the travelers pay more tribute and respect to their motherland. Thus, a strong sense of pride will be cultivated. On the contrary, without having a knowledge of historical background, it is conceivable that you cannot get a clear picture of the significance of some specific attractions in foreign country, at most time you were just visited there.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that traveling in a foreign country is no less important than taking a trip in your own country. Not only shouldn’t we give top priority to any one of them, and we possess the rights to decide which one is more beneficial and suitable for us.