Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who cannot accept criticism from others cannot be successful at working in a group.

Nowadays, our society treasures cooperation and working in a group has become a prevailing trend in many companies and schools. In this process, it is unavoidable that some criticism will stem from interpersonal interactions. Some people reckon that people who are not open-minded enough to accept criticism will not succeed. As far as I am concerned, I definitely concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, people who cannot accept criticism will enormously undermine productivity and working efficiency of the whole group. As a matter of fact, everyone in a group is interrelated and group members are just like different components of an engine. If one part does not function well, the whole engine will suddenly break down and even collapse. When someone makes mistakes in work but refuses to make up for his flaws, he will readily fall into the same pitfall next time, which will significantly pose threat to the productivity of the whole group. Based on an unstable fundament, the mistakes will delay others' work and even lead to terrible outcomes that cannot be compensated with ease. For example, in the last semester, I participated in a research competition about hotel management. One of my group members always used the wrong equations and methods to handle the math problems listed in the assignments. We suggested he utilize the right ways to allocate resources and energy for our model, nevertheless, he always ignored our advice and made us get the wrong answer. We finally failed in that competition.

In addition, it is of vital importance for group leaders to open their minds to listen to others' criticism. Only in this way can they find the crux of problems that the group is facing and improve the morale of the whole group. Sometimes, leaders are overweening and cannot see the whole picture since they are always required to think about the abstract strategy instead of details, leading to some mistakes that they even didn't notice. If they accept the criticism from the followers, they are capable of making full use of the power and perspectives of everyone in the group and gaining more trust from others. It is investigated in the field of psychology that if a leader values employees' voicing behaviors and creates a harmonious atmosphere to exchange ideas with them and accept their suggestions, the employees will have more trust in their leader and perform better.

Admittedly, there are always some stories that someone who didn’t mind others’ comments and kept their original ideas succeeded in the end. And sometimes, truth is in hands of only a few. However, we have to realize that alienation is the biggest enemy in group work, and criticism at most times will not exert detrimental effects on our life and work but is just a kind reminder to improve our ability and prohibit us from going further in the wrong way.

In a nutshell, I believe that on no account should we narrow our minds under the circumstances that others point out our weaknesses. In this way, we are enabled to obtain more attainments and constitute a steppingstone for the future development of our group and ourselves.