Do you agree or disagree? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying in today’s competitive world where we live, everyone should be familiar with the history of the world and a person can acquire such information from different ways. Although some people believe that a person should pass some history related courses in the university, others oppose them and hold the idea that passing history courses is not necessary for students. Personally speaking, I think students should not be required to participate in history classes. I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, one of the important goals of everyone who attends university is to become prepare for his future job. In fact, when a person registers in a university and selects a major for himself, he wants to pass courses which provide him some job required knowledge and skills. As a result, when a university told the students that they should participate in history classes, students cannot pass the courses which help them to find a better job after their graduation. For example, when I studied electrical engineering in the IUST university, the university noticed that during our education, we should register in three history classes, and without passing these courses, university did not allow students to become graduate. Therefore, I could not take in some related courses to my major which was taught by very well known professors. After graduation from IUST, I tried to find an appropriate job, but I realized that I could not apply for some jobs, because these jobs had some requirements which I did not have them since I did not passes some important courses in the university.

Second, universities always spend a lot of money for each class which hold on the campus. Also, students should allocate a large fraction of their time for this propose. However when student oblige to register in history classes because students always become reluctant to participate in those classes since they feel that such courses do not have benefits for them and university should allocate its financial resources to the more important issues, not only the university waste its money but also students realized that they waste their time because they do not gain any beneficial skill or information during history classes. For instance, when I was at AUT university, I realized that the university had not any required history courses for graduation, which caused to ask university staff about this decision. They told me that several years ago, in AUT university, like other universities in Iran, student had to take some required history courses to become graduate, but after some times, university decided to cancel this law based on results of a history exam in which all students who passed the history courses should participate because when the university’s faculties had considered the results of this exam, they had realized that there was not a significant change in historical knowledge of students, and student only wanted to pass such courses without any purpose for gaining historical knowledge.

In conclusion, have considering aforementioned reasons and examples into account, in my opinion, students should not be required to register for history classes because not only students gain nothing which can help them to find a proper job in the future but also universities invest their money on the wrong way.