Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Advertising influences people's behavior in a negative way.

use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Advertisements and commercials are, nowadays, an integral part of our daily life. However, some concerns have been raised about its potentially negative effect on the society. I believe that this is a true concern and advertising influences people's behavior in a negative way.

First of all, the main purpose of advertising items is to convince target population that they need the subject product of the advertisements. Thus, they encourage a false need among the people to buy things they may not necessarily need them. For example, my sister has become obsessed with her appearance because of the TV commercials and she spends a considerable percent of her salary to buy some lifting creams. However, she is so young that a lifting cream has nothing to add to her firm smooth skin.

Secondly, advertisings encourage people to consume further. Therefore, people may throw away used things that can be fixed in order to buy brand new products. This behavior will lead to development of a consumer society, which annually generate a huge amount of junk material. While our planet is suffering the insufficiency of resources, consumer societies will add to the burden.

Finally, the advertisements always use models with luxury clothing and excessively pruned body shapes to attract their targets. Unfortunately, young people will be mis-conducted by such models to believe they also should look the same way to be attractive. My young sister has also the same false idea that in order to look smart and beautiful she is required to have the same appearance of models in the advertisements.

In a nut shell, advertisements make their best attempt to generate a strong believe in the minds of people that in order to be perfect they urgently need to get rid of what they have and buy what they are advertising. Consequently, people try to shape their behavior accordingly. Therefore, the society will turn to be a consumer one. So, I believe that commercials have negative impacts on the society.