Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising can tell you a lot about a country. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that advertisements can give us a glimpse of the country they are promoted in. As they are aimed at people within the society, they need to be relevant to the audience in order to have any effect on them. This can help us identify local social norms and give us an insight on the culture and traditions of the country.

The most popular advertisements happen to be beauty campaigns. These can help us spot what the local beauty standards are. For example, in many Asian countries, the use of whitening creams is very popular. This is evidenced by the plethora of advertisements promoting whitening creams on every other billboard. This implies that light skin is deemed attractive by the people of this country.

Advertisements can also allow us to see what role each person plays in society. For example, if we see a lot of detergent ads aimed at women, we can assume that the majority of women take care of the house. On the other hand, if we see ads about ready-made lunches aimed at working women, we could infer that there is a large population of working women in that country.

Besides these, we can also use advertisements to identify what holidays or traditions are celebrated within a country. If we find an ad showing discounted prices for flowers, decorations etc, for a holiday, say an Independence day, we can identify what day it takes place on, how it is celebrated and so on. These holidays can further help us identify the major religions and common beliefs of that country. For instance, if Christmas advertisements were in the majority, we can assume that Christianity is the major religion in a country.

In short, I think advertisements are a great source for understanding a country, its traditions and social norms as they are aimed towards the public of that country. They are designed in such a way that people can relate to them and are understandable by the target audience. However, they are not a comprehensive understanding of a country, and so further research would be necessary to better understand the culture of a specific region.