Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All children should be required to take a foreign language class from the time they start school until they begin University. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It has become more and more important for people to learn foreign languages, which provide opportunities for people to connect with the outside world. In my opinion, to master a language fluently, one must start at a very young age, so I agree with utmost extent that children should be required to take a foreign language class from the time they start school until they begin University.

First of all, people can speak foreign languages more fluently if they started at young ages. We tended to remember words and paragraphs easier when we were young so that we could learn languages faster. According to a research, primary school kids had better memories than adults. They could remember the same length of paragraph 15% faster than grown-ups. Having taken such precious privilege when they were young, people would learn foreign language more efficiently. Moreover, consider the example of Indian people, they started learning English ever since first grade. They could speak English as fluently as American people, even though with accent. In contrast, most of the Chinese students started learning English in middle school and most of them still could not talk with native English speakers at all. As a result, it is vitally important to take foreign language class early, because children tend to learn the language easier and deeper.

Secondly, foreign languages provide students more paths to get access to knowledge and skills. Each country has its very own language and culture. It also has its unique ways to solve problems. To learn these ways in order to tackle with problems more efficiently, one must first know the language. For example, I studied learning English since the first day of elementary school so that I can read or speak with English with no problem. Since I majored computer science in college, I had encountered a lot of programming problems. When my classmates and I had no solutions, I always posted these problems on foreign websites in English and discussed with programmers from all over the world. In this way, I could get different perspectives to solve these problems and gain experiences from different countries. From my view, starting to learn foreign language at a young age is very beneficial, for it helps people to learn more in college.

In conclusion, I strongly support the view that children should be required to learn foreign languages ever since they started school. Because children learn languages faster and better and they will get access to more knowledge when they step into college in the future.